Moulin de Lené

Basic Info

At the time of the Roman Empire in Baetiris, now modern-day Beziers, vineyards were cultivated on this land as evidenced by the remains still find regularly. The Roman aqueduct that goes through the domain is testament to this ancient time. The earliest information found regarding the domain goes all the way back to 700 A.D. when a native family from Albi, named St. Juery, acquired the land. They developed it mainly for the production of grains, animal husbandry and grapes until 1740. That year, the domain was sold to the Couronne family which operated it for over a century until 1850. In 1905, a change was made to the name of the wine marketed in Paris from “Lené” to “Coteaux de Lené” (hillside of Lené). The Portes family continued to use the land to cultivate bulk wines, but the buildings on the property were no longer maintained. In 1997, Jacques Frayssinet acquired the Moulin de Lené and its vineyard. He had met his wife, Anny, in 1949 in this very place. A manufacturer of organic fertilizers for 35 years, his first work was dedicated to the agronomy of the vineyard, the soil (analysis, studies, plowing and fertilization) and Terra-Vitis®. At the same time, work began on replanting large areas of the vineyard with different varietals that were adapted to his desires. Planting continues today. The renovation of the cellar and the construction of the wine storehouse lined with oak barrels enabled the first harvest. Next, M. Frayssinet will be undertaking the restoration of the buildings on the domain.Today the domain is completely independent and relies on a motivated team, quality equipment and a commercial network dedicated to helping you discover the wines of Moulin de Lené.

Country:
France
Region:
Languedoc-Roussillon
Sub region:
Côtes de Thongue
Year founded:
1997
Owner:
Jacques Frayssinet
Organic:
Organic
website:
http://www.moulindelene.com/